The mother of all women’s tournaments

The mother of all women’s tournaments

Immerse yourself in the history of the

FIFA Women’s World Cup



3 wins


2 wins


1 win


1 win

Roll Of Honour

7 editions , 4 winners 

China PR 1991

USA claim first Women’s World Cup, spearheaded by an attacking trio of April Heinrichs, Carin Jennings and Michelle Akers – dubbed the ‘triple-edged sword’

Akers nets a brace in the final against Norway

Sweden 1995

A losing finalist four years previously, Hege Riise inspires Norway to victory on Scandinavian soil

She also picks up the adidas Golden Ball 

USA 1999

90,185 fans watch USA claim a second world title at Pasadena’s Rose Bowl

Brandi Chastain nets the winning penalty and embarks on iconic celebration 

USA 2003

USA were hosts once again four years later but could not repeat their success

Germany claim their first Women’s World Cup, inspired by Golden Ball and Golden Boot winner Birgit Prinz

China 2007

Marta dazzles with sublime skill and gorgeous goals but Brazil are powerless to stop the reigning champions

The Germans win a second world title, becoming the first team to retain the Trophy

Germany 2011

Homare Sawa’s goal against USA late in extra time means another final is decided on penalties

Japan, still reeling from a devastating earthquake a few months earlier, claim an emotional global crown

Canada 2015

Carli Lloyd’s historic hat-trick against Japan seals a third world title for USA

The 2015 Golden Ball winner scores in all of USA’s knockout matches 


From Nia Kunzer’s Golden Goal to Abby Wambach’s unforgettable header, check out our Women’s World Cup Classic homepage for the tournament's most famous moments, final highlights, legends of the game and more!